inside the mind of the mom next door

Hello

I didn’t sleep much last night.  I was thinking about starting a new blog.

As the women’s soccer coach at Belmont University, I had a blog on the school’s website.  I got a lot of positive feedback about my blog.  Players, parents, alumni, students, athletic department staff, other Belmont employees, and my friends and family often complimented me on my writing and reminded me when it was not regularly updated.

I no longer coach at Belmont.  (It’s a long story.)  My partner of over 8 years is expecting our first baby in April.  Being unemployed has given me time to nest.  I called it spring cleaning, but my friends who are mothers call it nesting.  Basically, I cleaned out and reorganized 2 bedrooms and 3 closets.  I turned the guest bedroom into the nursery, and I converted the office into a guest bedroom.  The rooms and space are ready for Baby.

Since Cyber Monday, 2010 my life has changed so much that some days, it is unrecognizable to me.  I like to write, and I have been journaling about all the crazy happenings in my life – media exposure, religious experiences, political activism, advocacy work, acts of kindness and generosity, unemployment, and my feelings, emotions, and fears.  I think one of the most helpful things I can write about publicly is my venture into motherhood.

No doubt being a lesbian mom will have a great impact on my stories and blog entries.  However I think my modern family will have common needs, joys, activities, obstacles, surprises, support, problems, and love of all families – traditional or not. I look forward to sharing them with you.

Comments on: "Hello" (4)

  1. Congrats!! Can’t wait to hear more about the baby. Lots of us have followed your story and are wishing the best for your and your family.

    Nesting is such a real thing. I did it with both of the children I was pregnant with and with my son, whom I adopted. The good part about it is you often get really organized. The bad part is that it doesn’t last…. 🙂

  2. Hello fellow parent blogger! Congrats! I look forward reading your posts.
    Love ya buddy!

  3. Lisa,

    So glad you’re sharing your experiences with us. Can’t wait to read about your journey. Byron and I miss you both. When will you be back in Atlanta?

    Hugs,
    David

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

