inside the mind of the mom next door

T-minus 7 Days

stress fracture

With 7 days to go until the scheduled arrival of Hope, I want to post more frequently this week.  I plan to keep them short, but with me, you never know.

Originally, Wendy was going to work all week this week.  After a very uncomfortable weekend with little sleep, she decided to make Monday her last day.  I was and still am happy to have her home this week.  Sleeping in Tuesday morning already made her day better until our first errand.  Wendy’s foot has been bothering her for about a month.  She went to see our friend who is an athletic trainer at Vanderbilt.  Wendy has a stress fracture in her 5th metatarsal and is wearing a boot on her left foot.  That type of injury is usually an overuse injury.  Cross country runners get them often.  I assume this is the result of gaining so much weight so fast without modifying her activities.  I’m glad she has been able to laugh at herself, because I have been laughing at her.  She looks so funny with that pregnant belly and Frankenstein shoe and limp.

Wendy also has to massage the outside of her foot with an ice cup.  Well, she can’t reach the outside of her foot, so I do it for her.  If you have never used an ice cup, you don’t know what you’re missing – torture, pain, and agony.  It’s terrible!  She is being very tough!

All this being said, Wendy has never looked so beautiful to me.  Her form is beautiful.  Her face is beautiful.  Her complexion is beautiful.  Her hair is beautiful.  Her laugh is beautiful.  I don’t know if it is her or me, but she is breath taking.

Our friends, both old and new, continue to amaze us with their generosity.  Our families are providing so much for us too.  I think back to December when we got monetary gifts from Belmont faculty, PFLAG, Nashville in Harmony, and other generous groups and individuals.  I am reminded everyday to be grateful.  I know I have changed for the better, and I will never be the same.

Thank you for reading, and thank you for the comments.  I am happy to get such good advice, and I’m glad you are enjoying the blog.

Comments on: "T-minus 7 Days" (4)

  1. It’s great you can both laugh about the boot. She looks great…she must have remained on a healthy diet throughout her pregnancy. Kudos to her for that!

    You are one sweet wife. I think a lot of us fear what our partner will think about us when we are pregnant, looking like a puffer fish. The things you said about her made me smile. Your kindness is a reflection of your character.

    Enjoy your week off together. We’ll be in CT getting married probably about the time Hope arrives. What a beautiful April it’s going to be!

  2. Uncle T-WAYNE said:

    you are both beautiful and i love you more than you will ever know…i can’t wait to meet HOPE.

  3. Charity said:

    The fact that you have this unconditional love for Wendy is proof that there is no measure to the amount of love you will have for the both of them once Hope is here.

    As a woman, who it seems like it was yesterday just went through all of this, I think it is important that she continues to, see, feel and know how much you love and admire her. Don’t loose sight in continuing to tell her all these things especially once Hope is here. Sometimes partners get so caught up and wrapped up in
    the love they are experiencing with the baby they forget the gift that was given to them and from who.
    I’m certainly not saying you would do that, but Wendy is getting ready to go on an emotional journey that is unpredictable and that is when she and Hope will need you the most. Don’t take anything personal as Wendy will have no control of any emotions.

    Her tears will be, as you say breath taking. I know I’ve said it once if I’ve said it a thousand times, I am so very excited for you ladies.

  4. Amanda said:

    soooo sweet! brought tears to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

