inside the mind of the mom next door

Work and Hope

I’m sorry I missed last week.  I was working a soccer camp.  I was leaving the house at 7am and getting home at 8pm.  After the 1st full day of camp, I was driving home and realized I had not seen Hope in 28 hours.  I realized she probably would be in bed by the time I got home, and I started crying while doing the math in my head.  Fortunately, Hope woke up at 8:30.  I got to feed her and hang out with her.  That was great!

During high school soccer season, I know Wendy is going to have some 13 hour days.  We were discussing a schedule for Hope so that she and Wendy will spend time together before school and after practice or games.  All the planning led to a renewed anger and frustration for Wendy.

Originally, Wendy was going to take a year off from teaching.  She was going to stay home with Hope and coach the high school soccer team.  Now that I am unemployed, I am going to be the stay at home mom, and Wendy is going to be the bread winner.  In 8+ years, that scenario was never discussed as an option.  I know it will be hard for Wendy, and I am proud of her for taking on this responsibility and change of plans.  When soccer season is over in November, I hope Wendy’s schedule will be more balanced with work and family.

My long term goal is for me to become self-employed and make enough money so that Wendy can be a stay at home mom with 2 kids.  All the turmoil, all the broken plans, all the sacrifice will be worth it.

I am excited and scared to death of the journey I am on right now – reinventing myself.  I remember watching Michelle Obama on Oprah one day.  I think it was Oprah.  Ms. Obama was talking about unemployment, keeping a positive attitude, and reinventing oneself at any age.  She was talking about education and training and changing careers.  When I watched that, I had no intention of reinventing myself, but I was intrigued by it and wondered if I could do anything like that.  I also thought how unfair it was to a person or an employee who had sacrificed for a company or industry and made a career for themselves to have to do something like that.  I remember Michelle Obama said this is how people can keep American society moving forward.

I could probably continue coaching soccer at some level.  I would be putting myself right back in that place where I avoid personal conversations, fear being misinterpreted, and hide who I am.  I am going to rise to this challenge of reinventing myself.  I look at it as an opportunity, but I think one of the most difficult parts is, “Who is ever really prepared to redefine themselves?”

That’s what Wendy and I have been doing for the last week.  Here is what Hope has been doing.  She loves to put her fists in her mouth.  She smiles and laughs more.  She can lift her head up off the floor when she is laying on her tummy.  She can lie on her back and roll over on her side.  She can make a smacking noise with her lips.  She can sleep for 8 or 9 hours at night without eating!

I have been scanning some of Wendy’s baby pictures.  In my next post, I will publish these pictures so you can see how much Hope looks like a Holleman baby.

Comments on: "Work and Hope" (3)

  1. Charity said:

    I understand where you both are coming from, hold on to each other, love your gift of life with Hope, & all will be forgotten. Life & God has a plan when you least expect it you will find yourself reinvented. The job of being a stay at home mom can never be repaid in the form of money in the bank, but the years of trust & love you will get from both Hope & Wendy. If you need any ideas please reach out and I will give pointers if you like. Your path in life changed because it was Gods plan for you to be in the place you are right now. Love you ladies and I cannot wait to meet Hope. 🙂

  2. WOW @ the long days you’re working! I feel ya…I work thirteens at the hospital sometimes-not fun! I’m so glad Hope woke up for you to see her.

    It sounds like a learning process for all three of you. You’ll figure it out. Now is the time to do ANYTHING you/Wendy want to do with your careers. You’ve got so much love and support.

    It hurts to hear that you would avoid personal conversations, or hide. You are such an inspiration, and someone who seems to be fearless in the face of adversity. You can fight through the conservatives. I’m learning once people get to know YOU, it’s harder for them to judge/be mean.

  3. Michelle said:

    I know who you are and I have loved both of you for a long time and I was just thinking last night, that I can’t take it because I haven’t seen that baby! Or you for that matter. Next time we go to Kentucky I really am stopping to see you!

    I look at your soccer like my cheer/gymnastics stuff. I have coached it since 1990 and been involved in it since 1985! I take breaks! 🙂 Right now I am teaching one little 6 year old girl gymnastics one day a week in my basement…this time last year I was coaching a 9 and 10 year old cheer squad…four years ago I was coaching JSU’s squad with 30 guys and girls! If you love something like that you just evolve with it. I realize you need to reinvent your career but don’t ever loose the love for every little piece of soccer…I know you won’t!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

